$SCHW

Murtagh Nigel J sold $3.4M of SCHW

Murtagh Nigel J (Chief Risk Officer) sold 32,947 shares of SCHWAB CHARLES CORP (SCHW) at an average of $104.01 ($104.00–$104.03, $3.43M total) across 2 trades on 2026-07-27 under a Rule 10b5-1 trading plan.

Original reporting
SEC EDGAR · Murtagh Nigel J
Published Jul 30, 2026, 12:20 AM UTC
Analysis
AlphAI AI DeskAI-generated
Added to AlphAI Jul 30, 2026, 12:31 AM UTC. Informational, not investment advice.
How this was made
AlphAI summarizes source reporting and applies a structured AI analysis for relevance, timing, sentiment and ticker impact. Always verify material claims with the original publisher.
AlphAI market briefInsider activity
Primary signal
$SCHW
Neutral
high confidence
Mentioned
$SCHW
Relevance
5/10
AlphAI data visualization · based on SEC EDGAR
Decision brief

The 30-second read

$SCHWNeutralLow
01

Why it matters

The newest fact is the reported open-market sale amount and timing, but it is explicitly under a pre-arranged 10b5-1 plan, reducing interpretive weight for near-term fundamentals.

02

Market read

Traders may note the insider sale for sentiment monitoring, but there is no new company-specific operating or regulatory catalyst.

03

What to watch

The article does not state the insider’s total compensation, tax-motivated selling, or whether other insiders are selling/buying around the same period, limiting inference.

Relevance 5/10Novelty 3/10Timing: SEC Form 4 filed 2026-07-29 for 2026-07-27 insider sale.

Background

The article is an SEC Form 4 insider transaction disclosure for Charles Schwab (SCHW).

Company-level read

Ticker impact

$SCHWNeutralHigh confidence
Context

Charles Schwab insider Chief Risk Officer Murtagh Nigel J sold 32,947 shares in open-market trades at about $104 on 2026-07-27 under a 10b5-1 plan.

Expected impact

Likely minimal near-term price impact; any effect is more about signaling than fundamentals.

Evidence & confidence

The filing is a Form 4 insider transaction with a pre-arranged 10b5-1 plan, and the article provides no accompanying company-specific news (earnings, guidance, legal, or deal).

Market effects

None. The disclosure is company-specific and does not change broader financial-sector expectations.

None indicated.

None indicated.

Counterpoint

Even with 10b5-1, some traders may interpret repeated insider selling as a mild bearish signal, especially if paired with other negative disclosures (not present here).

Key entities

  • SCHW

    Charles Schwab Corporation, the subject of the Form 4 insider sale disclosure.

  • Murtagh Nigel J

    Chief Risk Officer who sold 32,947 shares in open-market trades on 2026-07-27 under a 10b5-1 plan.

Full insider trading history

This story covers one filing. See everything behind it: every insider buy and sell on record, 10b5-1 plans, late filings, and which officers and directors are trading.

Related articles

$SCHWMed

Three in Four Crypto Owners Want to Hold It at Their Own Bank. Which Banks Already Let You?

A 2026 Sentora survey found 75% of U.S. crypto holders want banks to manage their Bitcoin and other digital currencies. Charles Schwab (SCHW) and Interactive Brokers (IBKR) now offer crypto custody, with Schwab adding Solana (SOL), Avalanche (AVAX), and Chainlink (LINK) by year-end. Deutsche Bank (DB) plans to launch custody services in Germany first. Schwab charges a 0.75% trade fee and has a $5,000 withdrawal limit. Insurance protections for crypto are limited.

$JPMMed

JPMorgan AI Agents Ban 2026: 3 Things Muse Can't Do at Chase

JPMorgan Chase, the largest US bank, announced it will block external AI agents like Meta's Muse and Instinct from logging into and moving money within customer accounts. The bank supports data sharing through approved aggregators like Plaid but opposes credential sharing. JPMorgan's CEO Jamie Dimon warned about the risks of 'rogue agents' and liability transfers. The bank's third-quarter earnings showed a 6% increase, with growth in consumer deposits.

$SCHWHighAI 8/10

Charles Schwab Opens Direct Bitcoin, Ether Trading to All Retail Clients

Charles Schwab now offers direct Bitcoin and Ether trading to its 40M+ U.S. retail clients, with plans to add Solana, Avalanche, and Chainlink later. Clients own the underlying cryptocurrencies, not funds or contracts. The firm has not disclosed fees, custody details, or eligibility requirements. This move competes with crypto-native exchanges and follows a trend among U.S. financial institutions.

$SCHWMedAI 8/10

Charles Schwab Stock Is Falling Friday: What's Going On?

Charles Schwab Corp. (SCHW) reported Q3 adjusted earnings of $1.69 per share, beating estimates, with revenue rising 17% YoY to $7.17B. Analysts revised price forecasts; Citizens maintained a $120 target, citing long-term strength, while JPMorgan cut its target to $147 due to funding pressures. Shares fell 2.45% to $91.85 on Friday.

$SCHWMed

Charles Schwab opens direct Bitcoin and Ethereum trading to its retail clients

Charles Schwab now allows its 40.1 million retail clients to directly trade Bitcoin and Ethereum via its Schwab Crypto account, launched in April 2026. The service, with a 0.75% fee, is available on Schwab's platforms but excludes New York and Louisiana. Paxos handles trade execution and custody. Schwab plans to add Solana, Avalanche, and Chainlink by year-end. The firm aims to generate transaction-based revenue from crypto trading.