$SCHW

Murtagh Nigel J sold $2.9M of SCHW

Murtagh Nigel J (Chief Risk Officer) sold 26,675 shares of SCHWAB CHARLES CORP (SCHW) at an average of $109.01 ($109.00–$109.01, $2.91M total) across 2 trades over 2026-08-06 to 2026-08-10 under a Rule 10b5-1 trading plan.

Original reporting
SEC EDGAR · Murtagh Nigel J
Published Aug 11, 2026, 12:05 AM UTC
Analysis
AlphAI AI DeskAI-generated
Added to AlphAI Aug 11, 2026, 12:34 AM UTC. Informational, not investment advice.
How this was made
AlphAI summarizes source reporting and applies a structured AI analysis for relevance, timing, sentiment and ticker impact. Always verify material claims with the original publisher.
AlphAI market briefInsider activity
Primary signal
$SCHW
Neutral
medium confidence
Mentioned
$SCHW
Relevance
5/10
AlphAI data visualization · based on SEC EDGAR
Decision brief

The 30-second read

$SCHWNeutralLow
01

Why it matters

The only new information is the disclosed sale size, price range, and post-transaction holdings under a pre-arranged 10b5-1 plan; no new guidance, legal/regulatory event, or business development is provided.

02

Market read

Traders may note insider selling, but the 10b5-1 framing and lack of additional catalysts make this more of a sentiment datapoint than a decision driver.

03

What to watch

The article does not state the insider’s total compensation, tax-motivated selling, or whether sales were part of a recurring pattern, which limits inference from the sale size alone.

Relevance 5/10Novelty 3/10Timing: filed 2026-08-10 after trades dated 2026-08-06 to 2026-08-10

Background

The article is an SEC Form 4 insider transaction report for Charles Schwab (SCHW) by Chief Risk Officer Murtagh Nigel J.

Company-level read

Ticker impact

$SCHWNeutralMedium confidence
Context

Charles Schwab insider Murtagh Nigel J sold 26,675 shares in open-market transactions under a pre-arranged 10b5-1 plan at about $109/share.

Expected impact

Low near-term impact; any reaction is likely limited to short-lived sentiment noise around insider selling.

Evidence & confidence

The filing is a Form 4 open-market sale by the Chief Risk Officer, explicitly tied to a pre-arranged 10b5-1 plan, and the article provides no new company-specific developments beyond the transaction details.

Market effects

Minimal, as the disclosure is company-specific insider selling without broader sector signals.

None indicated.

None indicated.

Counterpoint

Even with a 10b5-1 plan, some traders may interpret insider sales as a mild caution signal, especially if paired with other negative disclosures not mentioned here.

Key entities

  • SCHW

    Charles Schwab Corporation, the subject of the Form 4 insider transaction disclosure.

  • Murtagh Nigel J

    Chief Risk Officer who executed open-market sales under a pre-arranged 10b5-1 plan.

Full insider trading history

This story covers one filing. See everything behind it: every insider buy and sell on record, 10b5-1 plans, late filings, and which officers and directors are trading.

Related articles

$SCHWMed

Three in Four Crypto Owners Want to Hold It at Their Own Bank. Which Banks Already Let You?

A 2026 Sentora survey found 75% of U.S. crypto holders want banks to manage their Bitcoin and other digital currencies. Charles Schwab (SCHW) and Interactive Brokers (IBKR) now offer crypto custody, with Schwab adding Solana (SOL), Avalanche (AVAX), and Chainlink (LINK) by year-end. Deutsche Bank (DB) plans to launch custody services in Germany first. Schwab charges a 0.75% trade fee and has a $5,000 withdrawal limit. Insurance protections for crypto are limited.

$JPMMed

JPMorgan AI Agents Ban 2026: 3 Things Muse Can't Do at Chase

JPMorgan Chase, the largest US bank, announced it will block external AI agents like Meta's Muse and Instinct from logging into and moving money within customer accounts. The bank supports data sharing through approved aggregators like Plaid but opposes credential sharing. JPMorgan's CEO Jamie Dimon warned about the risks of 'rogue agents' and liability transfers. The bank's third-quarter earnings showed a 6% increase, with growth in consumer deposits.

$SCHWHighAI 8/10

Charles Schwab Opens Direct Bitcoin, Ether Trading to All Retail Clients

Charles Schwab now offers direct Bitcoin and Ether trading to its 40M+ U.S. retail clients, with plans to add Solana, Avalanche, and Chainlink later. Clients own the underlying cryptocurrencies, not funds or contracts. The firm has not disclosed fees, custody details, or eligibility requirements. This move competes with crypto-native exchanges and follows a trend among U.S. financial institutions.

$SCHWMedAI 8/10

Charles Schwab Stock Is Falling Friday: What's Going On?

Charles Schwab Corp. (SCHW) reported Q3 adjusted earnings of $1.69 per share, beating estimates, with revenue rising 17% YoY to $7.17B. Analysts revised price forecasts; Citizens maintained a $120 target, citing long-term strength, while JPMorgan cut its target to $147 due to funding pressures. Shares fell 2.45% to $91.85 on Friday.

$SCHWMed

Charles Schwab opens direct Bitcoin and Ethereum trading to its retail clients

Charles Schwab now allows its 40.1 million retail clients to directly trade Bitcoin and Ethereum via its Schwab Crypto account, launched in April 2026. The service, with a 0.75% fee, is available on Schwab's platforms but excludes New York and Louisiana. Paxos handles trade execution and custody. Schwab plans to add Solana, Avalanche, and Chainlink by year-end. The firm aims to generate transaction-based revenue from crypto trading.