$NG.L

National Grid

No enriched coverage for $NG.L in the last 7 days.

Low

National Grid plans major works to accommodate London data centers

National Grid said it plans major transmission upgrades in North West London to support five new data centers totaling about 1GW of demand. The company will connect them to the Elstree 400kV substation and build a new 132kV Letchmore Heath GIS substation, plus Sundon and Elstree–St John’s Wood line and tunnel works. It cited a 460% rise in the connection queue and up to 15-year waits.

National Grid Unveils NW London Upgrade Project

National Grid PLC announced its North West London Upgrade, upgrading and adding capacity between Sundon (Bedfordshire) and St John’s Wood (London). The project includes substation upgrades, reconductoring of a 35 km overhead line, tunnel and 400 kV cable works, and GIS expansion. Contractors include Laing O’Rourke and Hochtief-Murphy JV. It supports RIIO-T3 investment of GBP 31 billion to 2031.

National Grid unit raises C$1.25B in 10-year green bonds at 4.716%

National Grid’s electricity transmission unit priced C$1.25 billion of 10-year green bonds with a fixed 4.716% coupon, maturing 12 Aug 2036, under the group’s €20 billion Euro Medium Term Note Programme. The FCA approved the issuance. Proceeds will fund or refinance eligible green projects, though specific projects were not disclosed.

NG.L sentiment & insider activity

Recent NG.L coverage spans corporate actions, financial news and sector analysis.

What's driving NG.L

  • The plan is a transmission-capacity expansion tied to data-center load growth, which can support connection throughput and reduce future bottlenecks.

    itpro.com · Aug 18, 2026

  • The disclosed capex and contracted scope are incremental but tangible for NG.L’s UK transmission growth narrative and near-term execution risk.

    rigzone.com · Aug 17, 2026

  • The bond issuance is a financing event that can modestly affect funding costs and investor perception of National Grid’s transition-capex plan.

    app.dealroom.co · Aug 13, 2026

  • This is a capital-markets disclosure that may support future issuance under the MTN programme, but it does not announce a specific new deal or pricing.

    investegate.co.uk · Aug 4, 2026

  • The reorg is intended to tighten execution and delivery of a large UK and US Northeast capex program, which can shift near-term expectations for cost, schedule, and regulatory delivery.

    investegate.co.uk · Aug 3, 2026

alphai scores every news story that mentions NG.L with an AI model for sentiment and relevance, and aggregates insider trades from National Grid's SEC EDGAR Form 4 filings. Figures refresh continuously.

News on $NG.L

Score
$NG.LLow

National Grid plans major works to accommodate London data centers

National Grid said it plans major transmission upgrades in North West London to support five new data centers totaling about 1GW of demand. The company will connect them to the Elstree 400kV substation and build a new 132kV Letchmore Heath GIS substation, plus Sundon and Elstree–St John’s Wood line and tunnel works. It cited a 460% rise in the connection queue and up to 15-year waits.

$NG.LMed

National Grid Unveils NW London Upgrade Project

National Grid PLC announced its North West London Upgrade, upgrading and adding capacity between Sundon (Bedfordshire) and St John’s Wood (London). The project includes substation upgrades, reconductoring of a 35 km overhead line, tunnel and 400 kV cable works, and GIS expansion. Contractors include Laing O’Rourke and Hochtief-Murphy JV. It supports RIIO-T3 investment of GBP 31 billion to 2031.

National Grid unit raises C$1.25B in 10-year green bonds at 4.716%

National Grid’s electricity transmission unit priced C$1.25 billion of 10-year green bonds with a fixed 4.716% coupon, maturing 12 Aug 2036, under the group’s €20 billion Euro Medium Term Note Programme. The FCA approved the issuance. Proceeds will fund or refinance eligible green projects, though specific projects were not disclosed.

Publication of a Supplementary Prospectus

National Grid plc and National Grid Electricity Transmission plc said the UK Financial Conduct Authority approved a supplementary prospectus dated 4 Aug 2026 for their Euro 20bn Euro Medium Term Note Programme, supplementing prior prospectuses. The document is available via the provided LSE and FCA National Storage Mechanism links.

National Grid simplifies its operating model

National Grid plc said it will simplify its operating model effective 1 September 2026, reducing its Group Executive Committee from 13 to 8 members. It will combine UK and US business unit leadership under single Presidents, supported by Global Capital and Technology and Innovation teams. The company also reiterated a commitment of at least £70 billion to modernise UK and US networks.

National Grid marks major milestone on project in York

National Grid said its Yorkshire GREEN project, part of the Great Grid Upgrade, has installed 28 permanent pylons and laid 25 km of overhead lines. Construction started in Jan 2025, with new substations at Overton and Monk Fryston and eight 200-tonne supergrid transformers delivered. The company expects operation in 2027 and completion in 2028, and awarded nearly £500,000 to community schemes.

National Grid Demand Flexibility Service - households paid to power down

National Grid ESO launched the GB-wide Demand Flexibility Service, paying households and small businesses via suppliers/aggregators to reduce or shift electricity use during peak events. According to National Grid ESO, the 2022-23 trial drew over one million participants and delivered verified evening demand reductions. The scheme was renewed for 2023-24 with updated auction parameters and higher capacity caps.

National Grid plc Scrip Dividend

National Grid plc said it has applied to the FCA and LSE for admission to trading of 50,862,899 ordinary shares under its Scrip Dividend Scheme for the 2025/26 final dividend, payable 23 July 2026. Dealings are expected to start 23 July 2026. 49,766,614 shares will be issued at 1,197.70p, and 219,257 ADRs at US$80.5453.

$NG.LLow

Utility stocks support FTSE 100 in nervy trade

Friday’s FTSE 100 closed up 0.3% at 10,600.37, supported by utility stocks, while tech jitters and a semiconductor sell-off weighed on markets. National Grid, Severn Trent and SSE rose. Burberry fell 6.4% after a cautious outlook. Nvidia’s market value was about $4.94T versus Apple’s $4.92T. US 10-year yield was 4.53%.

Related tickers